New Delhi: The government has reconstituted the National Manufacturing Competitiveness Council (NMCC) under the chairmanship of V Krishnamurthy, a Commerce Ministry statement said on Monday.

NMCC, which is an inter-disciplinary body that was set up by the government to serve as a policy forum for credible and coherent policy initiatives in the manufacturing sector, has been restructured vide a Government Gazette Notification dated August 17, it said.

Following the reconstitution, the council will comprise the Planning Commission Member (Industry), Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion Secretary, Finance Secretary, Heavy Industry Secretary, Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises Secretary and the Director-General of the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research from the government side.

The President of the Confederation of Indian Industry (CII), Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI) President and Associated Chambers of Commerce and Industry of India (ASSOCHAM) President will represent the apex industry organisations in the 28-member body, it added.

Finance Ministry Chief Economic Advisor Kaushik Basu and Indian Council for Research in International Economic Relations Isher Judge Ahluwalia are the two economists in the reconstituted body.

The representatives of various industrial sectors included in the NMCC are Tata Group Chairman Ratan Tata, TVS Motor Company CMD Venu Srinivasan, S Kumars Group Chairman Mukul Kasliwal, Larsen & Toubro CMD A M Naik, ITC Ltd CMD Y C Deveshwar, Godrej & Boyce Ltd CMD Jamshyd Godrej, BHEL CMD B P Rao and HCL Infosystems Chairman and CEO Ajai Chowdhry.

The council is to energise and sustain the growth of manufacturing industries and help in the implementation of strategies by the government.