Bhubaneswar: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik has sacked 33 ministers during the last 12 years in office while only two resigned.

Only four of the 35 ministers sacked were able to make a come back. They were Debi Prasad Mishra (now Agriculture minister), Damodar Rout (sacked twice and now Health minister), Bijayshree Routray (now Forest and Environment minister) and Rabinarayan Nanda (now School and Mass Education minister).

The latest ouster took place on August 2 when Patnaik sacked five ministers, including Finance Minister Prafulla Ghadai and Energy Minister Atanu S Nayak. Patnaik dropped five ministers ahead of the ministry expansion.

The other ministers who were dropped before the ministry expansion were Prafulla Samal, Pratap Jena and Pushpendra Singhdeo.

Patnaik sacked six ministers during his first stint as chief minister from 2000 to 2004 and the then Agriculture Minister Ramakrushna Patnaik had resigned after he was shifted from the Finance department.


Latest News from State News Desk