Speaker of state Legislative Assembly Mubarak Gul and ten ministers were included in the list of the candidates announced by party's general secretary Ali Mohammad Sagar after the parliamentary board meeting chaired by working president Omar Abdullah.

The party president Farooq Abdullah has vetted the list which includes only one new face as the party has even stood by those candidates who had lost to opposition candidates in the 2008 assembly polls.

The list included 19 candidates for Kashmir, 12 for Jammu division and one for Ladakh region, a statement said.

Interestingly, the NC has not announced the candidates for Ganderbal, Hazratbal and Sonawar assembly segments. Omar, his uncle Mustafa Kamal and Farooq Abdullah had won from these seats respectively in 2008 elections.

The Parliamentary Board comprising of Abdul Rahim Rather (Finance Minister), Sagar (Rural Development Minister), Choudhary Mohammad Ramzan (CAPD minister), S Harbans Singh, Qamar Ali Akhoon, Nasir Aslam Wani (provincial president, Kashmir) and Devender Singh Rana (provincial president, Jammu) met here and discussed the panels of candidates received from the Block and the District Committees of the party.

"After three hour deliberations the party declared the list of 32 candidates and decided to meet later this week to discuss the other seats," the statement said.

The names of the ministers in the list include Sagar (Khanyar), Ramzan (Handwara), Forest Minister Mian Altaf (Kangan), Education Minister Mohammad Akbar Lone (Sonawari), Social Welfare Minister Sakina Itoo (Noorabad), Law Minister Mir Saifullah (Kupwara), Minister of State for Home Sajjad Ahmad Kitchloo (Kishtwar) and Minister of State for Animal and Sheep Husbandry Nazir Ahmad Khan Gurezi (Gurez).

Dharamveer Singh Jamwal is the only new face in the list. He has been given the mandate from Jammu West. Tsetan Namgyal, who had won from Nobra constituency of Ladakh region in 2008 assembly polls as an independent, is the party's choice from the seat.

Prominent candidates in the list are Provincial president and former minister Nasir Aslam Wani (Amirakadal constituency), Chairperson of State Women's Commission Shameema Firdous (Habbakadal), former ministers Javid Ahmad Dar (Rafiabad) and Agha Syed Ruhullah (Budgam), Mir Saifullah (Kupwara), Aijaz Jan (Poonch-Haveli) and Surjit Singh Slathia (Vijapur).
Speaker Gul is the party candidate from his Eidgah constituency in downtown Srinagar, while the party has reposed faith in Planning Minister Ajay Kumar Sadhotra who has been given ticket from Marh.

The other names include Qaiser Jamshed Lone (Lolab), Bashir Ahmad Veeri (Bijbehara), Advocate Abdul Majeed (Homshalibugh), Mohammad Ashraf Bhat (Tral), Showket Ahmad Ganai (Wachi), Javed Ahmad Rana (Mendhar), Jagjeevan Lal (Reasi), Ramesh Motton (R S Pora), Choudhary Liyaqat (Darhaal).

Opposition Peoples Democratic Party took lead when it announced the first list of the candidates for the upcoming assembly polls in June and followed it by two more lists so far. The party has announced 60 candidates for the 87-member House.


Latest News from State News Desk