The party has already announced that Pawar will file his nomination in Mumbai on January 24.

Party spokesman DP Tripathi told reporters that NCP has given the other nomination to Memon, who is a senior lawyer.

Of the 55 seats falling vacant in the Upper House, Maharashtra has the biggest chunk of seven retiring members. They are Murli Deora and Hussain Dalwai (Congress), YP Trivedi and Janardhan Waghmare (NCP), Prakash Javadekar (Bharatiya Janata Party), Bharatkumar Raut and Rajkumar Dhoot (Shiv Sena).


Latest News from India News Desk