According to an opinion poll survey, NDA was projected to win 109-125 seats, while the alliance of Nitish Kumar's JD-U, Lalu Prasad's RJD and Congress is projected to get 104 to 120 seats in the 243-member Bihar Assembly. Others are projected to win 10-18 seats as per this poll.

Another opinion poll has projected the NDA to win 117 seats and the grand alliance projected to win 112 seats, leaving the remaining 14 seats for others.

There is a difference of only one percent in vote share projected in the Times Now opinion poll survey, with NDA getting 43 percent votes and the grand alliance running close with 42 percent votes.

Though NDA has not projected anyone as its chief ministerial candidate, 46.8 percent of those surveyed wanted the incumbent Nitish Kumar to be the Chief Minister and 16 percent voted in favour of BJP leader Sushil Modi, while 6.7 percent preferred former chief minister Jitan Ram Manjhi and 5.4 percent preferred BJP leader Shahnawaz Hussain.

The C-Voter survey's projections are based on a sample survey of 7,786 interviews covering all 243 constituencies in Bihar during the second and third week of September. The survey has left a margin of 3 percent error in projections.

Bihar will witness five-phased elections between October 12 and November 5. Counting of votes will take place on November 8.

Latest News from India News Desk