The five zonal wards -- City Zone, Sadar Paharganj Zone, Civil Lines Zone, Karol Bagh Zone and Rohini Zone -- saw the officials for the two municipal posts being elected unopposed.

The sixth zonal ward -- Rural Narela Zone too turned out be a "no-contest" as the second candidate for each of the civic post withdrew their names before the elections thus allowing the rest two to be elected unopposed as well, the NDMC said.

Three members of the Standing Committee from the respective ward committees of the Corporation were also elected unanimously in their respective meeting on Friday.

Meanwhile, the elections for the same posts for the EDMC (East Delhi Municipal Corporation) an SDMC (South Delhi Municipal Corporation) scheduled for May 9 and May 12 respectively, have both been postponed, EDMC Public Relations Officer Yogendra Singh Mann said.


Latest News from State News Desk