As the results for around 215 of the total 240 seats under direct voting system have been announced, Nepali Congress (NC) won 94 seats and CPN-UML 83 got seats. The UCPN (Maoist) was trailing behind in the third position with 24 seats. Other fringe parties won 14 seats.

UCPN-Maoist chief Prachanda got elected from Siraha 5 constituency in Southern Nepal. Prahanda earlier had humiliating defeat in Kathmandu 5 constituency. Meanwhile, the vote counting under proportionate system also got underway on Friday morning. The CPN-UML was taking leading in vote counting tally with 45,000 votes until 11 am. NC has got 31,160 while UCPN (M) has garnered 24,109 votes.

The Jhalanath Khanal-led CPN-UML and Nepali Congress headed by Sushil Koirala were locked in a fierce battle to emerge as the leading party in the polls to elect a 601-member Constituent Assembly. The counting will lead to the formation of a Constituent Assembly, including 240 elected under a direct voting system.

Proportionate voting will elect members to 335 seats and the remaining 26 members will be nominated by the government. A party needs a total of 301 seats to get an absolute majority. Nepal's Maoists are threatening to boycott the newly-elected Constituent Assembly, alleging conspiracy.

The vote was only the second one since a civil war launched by Maoist rebels ended in 2006. Nepal was then transformed into a secular republic.


Latest News from World News Desk