Shah announced the new appointments keeping with the party tradition of one man-one post principle.

He announced the appointment of Nand Kumar Singh Chauhan, a Lok Sabha MP from Khandwa and former State General Secretary, as the new BJP state unit chief for Madhya Pradesh. Chauhan replaces Gwalior MP Narendra Singh Tomar, who has become the Union Minister for Mines, Steel, Labour and Employment.

Former Vidhan Sabha Speaker Dharmpal Kaushik has been appointed as the new party chief for the Chhattishgarh unit. He replaces party's MP from Raigarh Vishnu Deo Sai, who has become Union Minister of State for Mines, Steel and Labour and Employment.

Shah also announced the appointment of Tamilisai Soundararajan, a former national Secretary, as the new party chief for the state of Tamil Nadu. She replaces the MP from Kanniyakumari Pon Radhakrishnan, who has since become Union Minister of State for Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises.

Siddharth Bhattacharya, a former co-convener of the party's Legal Cell has been made the new party president of its Assam state unit.

He replaces Sarbananda Sonowal, who has since become Minister of State for Skill Development, Entrepreneurship, Youth Affairs and Sports (Independent Charge).

Latest News from India News Desk