New Delhi: On the occasion of 76th foundation day of the All India Students Federation, the two-day Delhi state conference of the organisation ended on Monday at AITUC bhawan.

Head, Department of History, University of Delhi, Mr RC Thakran inaugurated the conference. Just before the inauguration, national president of organisation, comrade Paramjit Dhaba unfurled the flag of the AISF.

Addressing the inaugural speech, Thakran said, “The AISF has struggled for the welfare for the students before the freedom. The AISF is the first students union in the country and has been struggling against basic problems of the education system in the country.”

Given that deprived students are not getting required education, the relevance of the progressive students union like AISF becomes significant added Thakran.
Addressing the conference, the national president Paramjit Dhaba said, “Dozens of students emerging from AISF has made their contribution in the prosperity of nation.

The AISF has given several prominent persons in various fields including culture and literacy he added. Dhaba stressed upon the need of connecting the students and education to the social interest.

Laying stress on the golden history of the AISF, CPI’s national secretary comrade Amarjeet Kaur asked the students to take inspiration from it.

All the guests wished for the success for the conference. The council of the AISF was dissolved and 27-member new state council and 9-member secretary council was elected.

The long debate was held on the organizational activities of the AISF. Comrade Amit Kumar and Durgesh Tripathi were elected as the secretary and president of Delhi state AISF respectively.

Dhirendra, Amrita and Himanshu were elected as the joint secretaries while Kunal Chandra Suman Aprajita were elected as the vice-presidents. Alwin was elected as the treasurer of the Delhi state AISF.

Apart from hundreds of students of Jawaharlal Nehru University, Delhi University and Jamia Milia Islamia, Delhi state CPI secretary Dhirendra Sharma, political thinker Mahesh Rathi, Youth Federation Delhi state secretary Amik Jamei, state president comrade Rana, senior journalist Amarnath Jha and JNU professor Subodh Narayan Malakar were present on the occasion.