A Rashtrapati Bhavan communique while announcing the appointments said V Shanmuganthan, a BJP leader and a former Sangh functionary, has been made the Governor of Meghalaya and former Chief Secretary of Assam J P Rakkhowa the Governor of Arunachal Pradesh.

Two governors appointed during the tenure of the UPA government were also shifted. Lt Gen (retd) Nirbhay Sharma, who was serving as Governor of Arunachal Pradesh since May 2013, has been transferred and appointed as Governor for the remainder of his term which ends in 2018 in a continuing trend where Mizoram sees frequent changes of governors in the last one year.

The communique stated that Governor of Jharkhand Syed Ahmed, who was appointed in September 2011, has been shifted to Manipur for remainder of his term that ends in September next year.

Roy, a senior BJP leader from West Bengal, is a member of BJP National Executive. He had unsuccessfully contested from Kolkata Dakshin Lok Sabha constituency in 2014.

Murmu, a BJP leader from Odisha, has been an active member of the party and contested many elections. She was an MLA from Rairangpur assembly constituency in the year 2000.

Latest News from India News Desk