Lucknow: A total of 189 MLAs (47 percent) out of 403, have cases registered against them and about 98 of them are charged with serious criminal offences. Over 271 MLAs are millionaire, reported the Uttar Pradesh Election Watch.

Analyzing the affidavits submitted by legislators at the time of filing their nominations, the Uttar Pradesh Election Watch released the figures during a press conference on Sunday.

In 2007 assembly elections, the number of tainted MLAs was 140. The number increased by 12 percent this time. In the list of tainted MLAs, 29 are from the BSP, 111 from the SP, 25 from the BJP, 13 from the Congress, two each from the RLD and the Peace Party, one from Quami Ekta Dal and five independent MLAs.

According to the UP Election Watch, the richest MLA of the state is Nawab Kazim Ali Khan who has been elected from Swar assembly seat in Rampur District followed by BSP MLA Shah Aalam from Mubarakpur seat. The third richest MLA is Mahesh Sharma who has been elected on BJP ticket from Noida seat.

Kazim Ali owns assets worth Rs 56.89 crores, while Shah Aalam and Mahesh Sharma owns Rs 54.44 crores and Rs 37.45 crore respectively.

Six MLAs have declared their assets worth Rs 5 lakh or less. On the other hand, 22 MLAs have declared their liabilities worth Rs 1 crore or more.

With 37 percent increase, 271 millionaires managed to reach assembly house in 2012 in comparison to 124 in last elections. The average net worth of assets of the MLAs of each political party has also been analyzed by Election Watch. Accordingly, the average net worth assets of a BSP MLA and SP MLA are RS 4.44 crore and Rs 2.52 crore respectively.

The average net worth of assets of BJP MLA comes to Rs 4.01 crore while the Congress MLA’s assets amount to Rs 4.61 crore.

As far as educational background is concerned, 239 MLAs are graduates or have higher education qualifications.

Women MLAs less than 10 percent

A total of 32 women MLAs have been elected to the state assembly in 2012. Out of which 19 belong to the SP, three from the BSP, six from the BJP and two from the Congress.

Out of the 403 MLAs, 40 legislators are 8th standard passed. Only 14 are literate, 41 are grade 10th passed and 76 is grade 12th passed.

This year 6839 candidates fought on tickets of 239 political parties whereas in 2007, 6086 candidates had represented 131 parties.

Accordingly, there is an increase of 70 percent in the number of political parties and 12 percent increase in the number of candidates in comparison to 2012. This year candidates of 11 political parties including six independent MLAs could register their wins.