The Tests will be played at Wellington's Basin Reserve from Feb. 12 to 16 and at Christchurch's Hagley Oval from Feb. 20 to 24.

A third Test was planned but New Zealand Cricket confirmed Thursday that a three-match one-day series will be played instead — the first series for the Chapell-Hadlee Trophy since 2010. The matches will be played at Auckland on Feb. 3, Wellington on Feb. 6 and Hamilton on Feb. 8.

Australia and New Zealand will meet in eight Chappell-Hadlee series over the next seven years. New Zealand will also host tours by Sri Lanka in December and Pakistan in January.

The Sri Lanka series will include a Boxing Day one-day international at Hagley Oval on Dec. 26, while Pakistan will play a one-day match at the Basin Reserve on Jan. 25 — the first ODI at the Wellington venue in 10 years. One-day internationals in Wellington have recently been played at the larger Wellington Regional Stadium.

The Australian test at the Basin Reserve will likely see New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum play a world-record 100th consecutive test since debut, unless injury intervenes.

In total, New Zealand will play four Tests, 11 ODIs and five T20 internationals during the domestic summer.


Sri Lanka: Dec. 10-14, 1st test, Dunedin; Dec 18-22, 2nd test, Hamilton. Dec. 26, first ODI, Christchurch; Dec. 28, second ODI, Christchurch; Dec. 31, third ODI, Nelson; Jan. 2, fourth ODI, Nelson; Jan. 5, fifth ODI, Mt. Maunganui; Jan. 7, first T20 international, Mt. Maunganui; Jan. 10, second T20, Auckland.

Pakistan: Jan. 15, first T20, Auckland; Jan. 17, second T20, Hamilton; Jan. 22, third T20, Wellington; Jan. 25, first ODI, Wellington; Jan. 28, second ODI, Napier; Jan. 31, third ODI, Auckland.

Feb. 3, first ODI, Auckland; Feb. 6, second ODI, Wellington; Feb. 8, third ODI, Hamilton; Feb. 12-16, first test, Wellington; Feb. 20-24, second test, Christchurch.

Latest News from Sports News Desk