It means New Zealand have won five Tests in a calendar year for the first time after enjoying 2014 series wins at home against India (1-0) and away in the West Indies (2-1). They also drew a series with Pakistan (1-1) in the UAE earlier this month.

Although Williamson and Taylor steered New Zealand home, the victory was built on Brendon McCullum's swashbuckling 195 first innings knock and the lethal swing and seam bowling of Trent Boult and Tim Southee.

After Sri Lanka were forced to follow on 303 runs in arrears of New Zealand's 441, they ground out a gritty 407 but the size of the first innings deficit meant New Zealand were never under any serious threat.

Sri Lanka resumed their second innings on Monday at 293 for five and cautiously picked off the 10 runs they need to make New Zealand bat again before Southee struck in a high-class spell with an ageing ball that produced three wickets for 19.

Sri Lanka slumped to 325 for eight and when off-spinner Mark Craig dismissed Prasanna Jayawardene (23) it became 348 for nine.

Only lusty hitting by Shaminda Eranga and Suranga Lakmal, who added 59 for the last wicket, took New Zealand's target past 100.

Nightwatchman Tharindu Kaushal was Southee's first victim when he edged a seaming delivery to Craig at second slip.

Angelo Mathews reached 66 before he pulled at a Southee bouncer and was caught down the leg side by wicketkeeper BJ Watling.

Southee claimed his third wicket of the session when Dhammika Prasad nicked to Taylor at first slip.

Southee featured in the remaining two dismissals, catching Jayawardene (23) off Craig and Lakmal (16) from the bowling of Trent Boult leaving Eranga undefeated on a career-high 45.

Southee finished with four for 91 and Boult, who removed the top order on Sunday, returned figures of four for 100. New Zealand lost both openers in their brief run chase with Tom Latham out for 17 and Hamish Rutherford for 10.

New Zealand had previously won four Tests in a year five times, most recently in 2008. They are in an unbeatable position in the series with the second and final Test starting in Wellington on Saturday.

Latest News from Sports News Desk