Overnight rain had forced a delay to the scheduled 11.00 am (2200 GMT) start time and persistent showers kept players off the ground until umpires Richard Illingworth and Billy Bowden decided a shortened game could begin.
Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews won the toss and the tourists will field when play begins at 3.40 pm (0240 GMT).
The visitors kept the five-match series alive with a comprehensive eight-wicket victory in the third match at the same venue on December 31, after the hosts easily won the first two games at Hagley Oval in Christchurch.
The fifth match is at Mt. Maunganui on January 5. The tour concludes with two Twenty20 internationals on January 7 and 10.

Latest News from Sports News Desk