The order, which came a day after the full bench of the poll panel held wide consultations with state officials and political parties, was sent to the state Chief Secretary Sanjay Mitra.

The Superintendents of Police of West Midnapore, Bardhman, Birbhum, Malda and North 24 Parganas were removed along with the District Magistrate of North 24 Parganas.

“In a letter to the Chief Secretary, the commission said that the nine officers be shifted to non-election related and non-field posts on intimation to the commission," Chief Electoral Officer Sunil Gupta said.


Latest News from State News Desk