The resolution also said that veteran socialist leader Ram Manohar Lohia, Karpoori Thakur and first chief minister of Bihar Sri Krishna Singh should also be bestowed with the Bharat Ratna.

Kumar is a member of Bihar Legislative Council.

Leader of Opposition BJP's Sushil Kumar Modi and other members supported the resolution following which Chairman Awdesh Narain Singh announced its adoption by the House.

Speaking after introducing the resolution, Kumar, who served as minister in the NDA government of Atal Bihari Vajpayee, said the veteran leader should have been accorded this honour by the UPA government.

Praising Vajpayee, Kumar said in his long innings in the Parliamentary democracy, he had led the country during Kargil war and is credited with successful experiment in coalition government.

Kumar, who has his roots in socialist ideology, strongly advocated Bharat Ratna for Ram Manohar Lohia who had united the opposition against Congress and played an active role in the 1942 Quit India movement along with Loknayak Jayprakash Narayan.

"Lohiaji was against worship of statue and used to say if a person is remembered after 50-60 years after his/her demise only then it is justified to install his or her statue. Time has come when the country should honour him with Bharat Ratna," he said.

Sushil Modi, who was deputy chief minister in the NDA government in Bihar, thanked him for his gratitude towards Vajpayee. He suggested that the House should thank Prime Minister Narendra Modi for deciding to give Bharat Ratna to Vajpayee and Malviya.


Latest News  from Bihar News Desk