Legislative council chairperson Awdesh Narayan Singh accepted plea of JD(U) that it be given status of opposition in the house.
Nitish Kumar, who is a member of the legislative council, has been recognised as Leader of Opposition in the house accordingly, Singh said.
The decision, he said, has been taken in accordance with the laid down rules.
Nitish Kumar has replaced BJP's Sushil Kumar Modi, who would be leader of BJPLP in the Council, Singh said.
In the 75-member Bihar legislative council, JD(U) has 41 members, BJP 16, RJD 5, Congress 4, CPI 2 and Independent 7.
JD(U) was granted the status of the principal opposition party in the assembly too and its leader Vijay Chaudhary the leader of the opposition during the day, just a day ahead of the crucial floor test by Jitan Ram Manjhi.

Latest News from States News Desk