Kumar made several suggestions for better discharge of duty by the Legislators while delivering the inaugural speech. The Bihar Legislative Assembly had its first sitting on February 7, 1921, when the Legislators from Bihar and Odisha had attended it.

Lawmakers from both the Houses in the state are attending the two-day function during which Constitution experts Subhas Kashyap and G C Mehrotra would also give them tips to improve their legislative performance.

The interactive session assumes significance in view of the fact that 98 MLAs, including Deputy CM Tejaswi Yadav and his brother minister Tej Pratap Yadav, both sons of RJD chief Lalu Prasad, are first-timers in the 243-membered Assembly.

Inaugurating the function, the CM narrated his experience as a Legislator and also as a Member of Parliament to motivate members, particularly the green horns.

Speaker Vijay Kumar Chaudhary, Chairperson of Legislative Council Awdesh Narayan Singh, Deputy Chief Minister Tejaswi Yadav, Leader of Opposition in Assembly Prem Kumar and Parliamentary Affairs minister Shrawan Kumar were present on the dais with the CM.

Kumar first became MLA in 1985 from his home constituency of Harnaut in Nalanda district. Since then, he has been elected as Lok Sabha member from Barh and Nalanda six times and member of Legislative Council thrice, including the present tenure.

His current term is fifth as Bihar CM and he has also served as Railway, Agriculture and Surface Transport minister in the A B Vajpayee-led NDA government.

Latest News  from Bihar News Desk