"Government employees whose headquarters or place of posting and hometown are one and the same are not eligible for hometown LTC," it said.

Besides, these employees cannot convert hometown LTC to avail special concession scheme to travel to North-East region, Jammu and Kashmir, and Andaman and Nicobar Islands, the Department of Personnel and Training said in an order.

However, government employees whose headquarters are Delhi and reside in cities or towns outside the national capital and falling in other states of National Capital Region (NCR) are eligible for hometown concession, the order said.

Every new recruit in government service is required to declare his or her hometown to avail the benefits of LTC.

The LTC allows grant of leave and ticket reimbursement to eligible Central government employees to travel to their hometowns.
However, the government has recently allowed employees to visit North-East region and Jammu and Kashmir, among others, in order to promote tourism and increase people-to-people contact.

Latest News from India News Desk