New Delhi: In the last civic polls, the Bhariatya Janata Party, which unseated the Congress in the MCD in 2007, grabbed maximum seats from North Delhi.

After the trifurcation of MCD, both the North and South Delhi municipal corporations have 104 seats each, while East Delhi has 64 wards.

In 2007 MCD polls, the BJP won 69 seats in North Delhi, while it managed to get 60 seats in South Delhi. The saffron party candidates won 40 seats out of 64 in East Delhi.

In last civic polls, the BJP won 168 seats, while the Congress registered win on the 68 seats. The Bahujan Samaj Party won 17 seats while the independents grabbed 11 seats. The Lok Jan Shakti Party won 3 seats, while the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha and the Nationalist Party ensured victory on two seats each.

In order to buck the anti-incumbency in the civic polls, the BJP denied over 100 sitting councillors tickets. It has also fielded women candidates in adequate number.

The saffron party is fighting civic polls on the development plank. Importantly, the Dalit population is in sizable number in all the three corporations. It can be gauged from the fact that BSP won 17 seats in 2007. It would be interesting to see that this time which party managed to grab dalit votes.