First-timers Bengaluru FC clinched the I-League title in their debut season courtesy a 4-2 away win over Dempo Sports Club here, with Chhetri fittingly netting the final goal.
"There are very few moments in my career that will match the significance of this one. It's been a team effort since day one. We've fought hard, trained harder and none of us are surprised that we are here today. If anything, we are delighted. This team is going to go down in history. We are the champions of India," Chhetri said after the win.
Needing a win to snatch the title ahead of other established teams, Bengaluru led from start to finish.
They scored through Sean Rooney (2nd), Robin Singh (56th), John Menyongar (79th) and captain Sunil Chhetri (90+7). Dempo reduced the margin through Roberto Silva (82nd) and substitute Romeo Fernandes (89th).
Coach Ashley Westwood thanked everyone connected to the club.
"Just want to congratulate and thank everybody connected to the club who has made this possible. We have shown what can be achieved with a combined team effort.

"I just hope everybody realises how big an achievement this has been for a brand new club and I would also like to say a special thanks to the fans who made Bangalore a special place to play for all of us," Westwood said.
The win helped the Southern club accumulate 44 points and take an unassailable lead with one round still to be played. The likes of East Bengal and Salgaocar Football Club will play for the second and third spot.


Latest News from Sports News Desk