A total of 2,35,045 voters (1.7 percent of the total polling) chose to press NOTA button in the elections that spanned over five phases for 81 seats, taking nearly a month, with the counting ending on Tuesday.

In comparison, JBSP managed 0.8 percent votes with Koda losing the Majhgaon seat, though his wife, Gita, retained her seat from Jagannathpur on the party ticket. NOTA also prevailed over Koda's former cabinet colleague Anosh Ekka's Jharkhand Party (JP), which registered only 1.1 percent vote share.
While Ekka won his Kolibera seat, his wife Menon, lost from Simdega constituency. With one percent vote share, the Marxist Coordination Committee also fared less than NOTA, followed by CPI (0.9 percent), Samajwadi party (0.8 percent), CPI-M (0.5 percent), NCP (0.3 percent) and AIFB (0.3 percent).
However, Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party not only fared better than NOTA with 1.8 percent but also opened its account in Jharkhand assembly for the first time, with its candidate Kushwaha Shivpujan Mehta winning from the Hussainabad seat.

Latest News from State News Desk