Of 280 political parties, most of them are from Mumbai, Thane and Western Maharashtra, while few of them are from Uttar Pradesh, Andhra Pradesh and Chhattisgarh, State Election Commissioner J S Saharaiya said.

Mumbai has 40 political parties which are on radar of the SEC, while 20 are from Thane district, 25 political parties got notice from Jalgaon, 24 from Pune, 22 from Ahemdnagar, 13 from Solapur, 21 from Satara, 13 from Sangli and 14 from Kolhapur includes Tararani Aghadi Paksha.

The show cause notice, issued to 280 parties includes Ramdas Athawale's Republican Party of India (RPI), Prakash Ambedkar's Bharip Bahujan Mahasangh, ruling BJP ally Mahadeo Jankar's Rashtriya Samaj Paksha (RSP), underworld don turned politician Arun Gawli's Akhil Bhartiya Sena (ABS), Rajan Vichare's 'Dharmarajya Paksha', and Sharad Joshi's 'Swatantra Bharat Paksha'.

These 280 political parties might lose the recognition and registration if they fail to submit their accounts, income tax returns and audit report to the SEC till December 30, the SEC said.

Latest News from State News Desk