With this issue of notification, the process of filing of nominations by candidates begins, the last date for which is April 18. In the last phase of the six-phase polls, voting will be held in 25 constituencies in the two districts of East Midnapore and Coochbehar.
Thousands of voters from Chitmahal who got Indian citizenship after exchange of enclaves with Bangladesh last year will get to vote in this phase as the Election Commission is trying to include them in the electoral rolls.
Five Assembly constituencies of Coochbehar -Mekhliganj, Sitalkuchi, Sitai, Dinhata and Tufanganj – and three Lok Sabha constituencies - Cooch Behar, Jalpaiguri and Alipurduar - have been delimited to include the new enclaves.

Latest News from State News Desk