While Dr Neiphrezo Keditsu of NPF polled 9,909 votes, BJP candidate Visasolie Lhoungu received 6,864 votes, District Returning Officer and DC Kohima, W Honje Konyak said.
Both BJP and NPF are allies in the NPF-led Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN) government.
The seat had been previously held for five continuous terms by three-times Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio from 1989 till May 2014.
The by-poll was necessitated following Neiphiu Rio's win in the Lok Sabha election in May this year.
The by-poll to the seat was held on October 15 in 39 polling stations across 30 villages of the constituency with 16,856 voters out of 18,834 exercising their franchise.

Latest News from State News Desk