New Delhi: England defeated India by seven wickets in the fifth and final cricket one-dayer at Dharamsala on Sunday.


Shami Ahmed proved to be a fine choice against England as the paceman gets important breakthrough for India in the fifth and final cricket one-dayer.

Shami dismissed Kevin Pietersen at the score of 6 while Ishant Sharma scalped England skipper Alastair Cook who was looking quite composed against India.

Sent to bat, India posted a challenging 226 runs against England in the fifth and final cricket on-dayer on Sunday.

India lost its seventh wicket in the form Suresh Raina who added 83 runs to the Indian scoreboard before being dismissed in the fifth and final cricket one-dayer against England on Sunday.

Raina looked firm between the wickets against England as the batsman slammed half-century on Sunday.

India lost its fifth wicket in the form of skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni who contributed just 15 runs to the scoreboard against England.

India lost its five wickets in quick succession in the fifth and final cricket one-dayer against England. Opener Gautam Gambhir was dismissed by England paceman James Tredwell at the score of 24.

England pacers opened strike and scalped Yuvraj Singh, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli to push India in deep trouble. Before being dismissed, Rohit added just 4 runs to the Indian scorecard while Yuvraj and Kohli were out for a duck.

England captain Alastair Cook won the toss and elected to bowl in the fifth and final cricket on-dayer against India.

India, who have already pocketed the series with a 3-1 lead, are unchanged for the inconsequential match.

There was one change in the England team with Chris Woakes coming in to replace an off-colour Jade Dernbach.


India: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (capt and wk), Gautam Gambhir, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Shami Ahmed.

England: Alastair Cook (capt), Ian Bell, Kevin Pietersen, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan, Jos Buttler†, Samit Patel, Chris Woakes, James Tredwell, Steven Finn, Tim Bresnan.


Latest News from Sports News Desk