Bhubaneswar: The monsoon session of the Odisha Assembly is scheduled to begin from August 28 and continue till September 7, according to a notification issued by the secretariat.

"The ten working day session will have eight official business and two days meant for private members," assembly secretary A K Sarangi said.

The session will witness massive change in the sitting arrangements for members.

While the nine new ministers will be given special seats, five members dropped from the ministry will have to be given separate seats.

The session will also witness new government chief whip and deputy chief whips as both Rabinarayan Pani and Arun Kumar Sahu have resigned from their posts.

While Pravat Tripathy will replace Pani as the government chief whip, Sahu's place will be taken by Sanjay Dasburma. Sahu is minister in charge of energy department after the August 2 ministry expansion.

This apart, four MLAs belonging to the NCP, who merged with the ruling BJD would also get separate seats in the 147 member House.


Latest News from States News Desk