"Congress general secretary and Odisha in-charge BK Hariprasad has informed me that Maken has been appointed as observer for the CLP leader election. Maken along with Hariprasad and Secretary Subhankar Sarkar will be visiting the state on June 10," Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee president Jaydev Jena said.
The Congress has only 16 MLAs in the 147-member Odisha Legislative Assembly while the number of BJD members is 117 and BJP has 10 MLAs.
While CPI (M) and Samata Kranti Dal have one member each, two independent MLAs are elected to the OLA.
Senior Congress leader Narsingh Mishra is likely to be elected as the Leader of Opposition in Odisha Assembly, sources said.


Latest News from State News Desk