The outlawed Communist Party of India-Maoists has also put up  posters urging people to boycott the polls in four southern districts of Koraput, Rayagada, Kalahandi and Kandhamal where balloting will be held on April 10.

At least 10,000 tribal voters in Kandhamal district have announced they will not vote this time because they have been deprived of basic facilities like roads, electricity, education, drinking water and health care, a senior district polling official said.

These voters live in Kandhamal Lok Sabha constituency and Phulbani assembly constituency area, he said. Similarly, member of the Konda Reddy community who live in the state's Maoist-hit Malkangiri district have put up posters at various places announcing the boycott of the polls as the government is yet to give them tribal status.

"They have announced this by putting up posters in their region," District Superintendent of Police Akhileswar Singh said. Malkangiri will also go to polls on April 10. The Konda Reddy community also boycotted the polls in 2009 general elections, he said.

About 25,000 people of the community live in the state, while another lakh of them stay across the border in Andhra Pradesh where they are recognized as a tribal community.


Latest News from State News Desk