The Lokayukta Bill, which was introduced in the House by state Parliamentary Affairs Minister Kalpataru Das, is likely to be placed before the House for consideration and passing on Wednesday.
As per the provisions of the Lokayukta Bill, both incumbent and former chief ministers would come under the purview of the Lokayukta, who has been empowered to probe corruption charges against public servants, including ministers, MLAs and government officers.
Any person who is or has been a Chief Minister will come under the jurisdiction of the Lokayukta in respect to inquiry.
The establishment of Lokayukta in Odisha will consist of a chairperson and five members.
A person who is or has been the Chief Justice of a High Court or a judge of High Court or an eminent person, who fulfills the eligibility, will become the chairperson.
A selection committee, having the Chief Minister as the chairperson, will have four other members - the Speaker of Odisha Legislative Assembly, Leader of Opposition, Chief Justice of Orissa High Court or a judge of the High Court nominated by the Chief Justice and an eminent jurist nominated by the Governor.
The Opposition Congress, however, castigated the government's move and dubbed it as an attempt to ‘rush through’ the Lokayukta Bill in the Assembly without adequate debate and discussion with all stakeholders.


Latest News from State News Desk