A day after the alliance of the JD-U, RJD and the Congress was finalized, JD-U state president Vashisht Narain Singh told media persons here on Sunday that the sharing of seats among the three parties has been decided.

Terming the alliance ‘a new beginning in Bihar to defeat communal forces’, he said, "The JD-U and the RJD would contest from four assembly seats each, and the Congress two seats."

Earlier, JD-U leaders said a formal announcement of the alliance will be made on July 30. Both the JD-U and the RJD have said the alliance was a must to strengthen secular forces and defeat communal parties in the state.

Former chief minister and JD-U leader Nitish Kumar has also said all secular parties needed to come together in Bihar and included the Congress and the Left parties in the ‘secular’ category.

Last month, the RJD supported the JD-U's two candidates in the Rajya Sabha by-polls.

In the recently concluded parliamentary elections, both the RJD and the JD-U were decimated by the BJP-LJP-RLSP alliance which sealed 31 seats out of 40.

The RJD won four seats, while the JD-U managed to register victory on two seats. The Congress won two seats, while NCP’s Tariq Anwar entered Lok Sabha from Katihar. Both the Congress and NCP fought general elections under an alliance with RJD in the state.

The JD-U, however had stitched the deal with CPI. The JD-U and the RJD decided to join hands to keep the BJP out of power in the forthcoming assembly elections.

In June last year, the JD-U snapped its 17-year-old alliance with the BJP over Narendra Modi's projection as the saffron party's prime ministerial candidate.

In comparison to BJP’s 44 percent vote share, the RJD got around 30 percent and JD-U about 16 percent in the last Lok Sabha polls.

Clearly, the RJD, JD-U, Congress alliance may stop BJP in the next assembly polls.


RJD-JD-U-Congress sealed alliance in Bihar by-polls
RJD, JD-U will contest from four seats each
Congress will fight on two seats
Lalu Prasad, Nitish Kumar joined hands after two long decades
In recently concluded Lok Sabha elections, BJP-LJP-RLSP won 31 seats
Ruling JD-U’s tally reduced from 20 to just two

Latest News  from Bihar News Desk