Many of his supporters too joined the BJP. Shyam Prakash, Samajwadi Party legislator from Hardoi, dumped the SP in favour of the BJP. Former SP member of legislative council Vishal Sharma, former Bahujan Samaj Party state minister Govind Singh Kushwaha and former legislator from Harchandpur in Rae Bareily Ganesh Lodhi also left the Congress to join the BJP.

Two BSP leaders, including Mahaveer Rana, also joined the BJP, saying they had faith in the development-oriented politics of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. In the past one month, six legislators of different parties have crossed over to the BJP.

Latest News from Uttar Pradesh News Desk