Ontong, who last played an ODI for Proteas in 2012, will be fighting for a place in the 15-member final squad that will be released in January before the 50-over showpiece event kick starts on February 14 in Australia and New Zealand.

Since making his debut in 2001, the 34-year-old player could not justify his talent after being in and out of the national side and just managing 28 ODIs and 2 Tests in his career so far. He last played for South Africa in a T20 against Pakistan in March 2013.

Apart from team regulars like AB de Villers, Hashim Amla, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, JP Duminy and Imran Tahir among others, some new names also adorn the list.

Youngsters such as Reeza Hendricks, Beuran Hendricks and Chris Morris are few players who have been rewarded for their performance in domestic games.


CWC preliminary squad:
AB de Villiers (The Unlimited Titans, capt), Hashim Amla (Nashua Cape Cobras, vice-capt), Kyle Abbott (Sunfoil Dolphins), Farhaan Behardien (The Unlimited Titans), Quinton de Kock (bizhub Highveld Lions), Marchant de Lange (The Unlimited Titans), JP Duminy (Nashua Cape Cobras), Faf du Plessis (The Unlimited Titans), Dean Elgar (The Unlimited Titans), Beuran Hendricks (Nashua Cape Cobras), Reeza Hendricks (Chevrolet Knights), Imran Tahir (Sunfoil Dolphins), Rory Kleinveldt (Nashua Cape Cobras), Ryan Mclaren (Sunfoil Dolphins), David Miller (Sunfoil Dolphins), Morne Morkel (The Unlimited Titans), Chris Morris (bizhub Highveld Lions), Justin Ontong (Nashua Cape Cobras), Wayne Parnell (Chevrolet Warriors), Robin Peterson (Nashua Cape Cobras), Aaron Phangiso (bizhub Highveld Lions), Vernon Philander (Nashua Cape Cobras), Andrew Puttick (Nashua Cape Cobras), Kagiso Rabada (bizhub Highveld Lions), Rilee Rossouw (Chevrolet Knights), Mthokozisi Shezi (Nashua Cape Cobras), Dale Steyn (Nashua Cape Cobras), Lonwabo Tsotsobe (bizhub Highveld Lions), Morne van Wyk (Sunfoil Dolphins), David Wiese (The Unlimited Titans).

Latest News from Sports News Desk