Mumbai: The organisers of the Mumbai Marathon have raised the prize money of the next edition by USD 10,000 and for first time the winner will get a trophy.
The 10th edition of the Mumbai Marathon will be held on January 20, 2013.
"To commemorate the 10th year of Standard Chartered Mumbai Marathon, a special trophy has been instituted for the overall men's and women's winners," the organisers, Procam International, told reporters.
The prize money for the event, which has an IAAF Gold-label status, now will be USD 3,50,000.
The top Indian male and female finishers will get a prize money of Rs 4.50 lakh, while a total of 39,000 running places will be offered.
The full marathon winners will win USD 36,000 in both men's and women's sections.
Other races during the event are the Senior Citizens' run, Dream Run and the Wheelchair event.


Latest News from Sports News Desk