New Delhi: A day after a massive blackout plunged eight states into darkness, the northern grid failed again on Tuesday. Triggering a major power crisis, three electricity grids connecting more than 20 states and the national capital collapsed on Tuesday.

While the northern grid failed for the second straight day, the eastern and north-eastern grids too collapsed. These three grids carry about 50,000 MW of electricity. 

Power failure halts Delhi Metro
Northern grid fails on July 30
States overdrawing power: Centre
Traffic hit in Delhi after power failure
IGIA operations not hit by grid collapse

The collapse has left more than half of the country powerless. Essential services and public transport systems, including Railways and the Delhi Metro were also hit.

About 22 states and union territories have been impacted by the failure of the three grids. The northern grid covers nine regions -- Punjab, Haryana, Rajasthan, Delhi, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, J&K and Chandigarh.
At least six states are covered by the eastern grid. They are West Bengal, Chattisgarh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Orissa and Sikkim. Meanwhile, the north eastern grid connects Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Assam, Meghalaya, Manipur, Mizoram and Tripura.

"Grid incident occurred at 1300 hrs affecting the northern grid, eastern grid and north-eastern grid – System Under Restoration," National Load Despatch Centre (NLDC), under the Power Ministry, said in an update.
India has five electricity grids -- Northern, Eastern, North Eastern, Southern and Western. All of them are inter-connected, except the Southern grid. All the grids are being run by the state-owned Power Grid Corporation, which operates more than 95,000 circuit km of transmission lines.
One circuit km refers to one kilometre of electrical transmission line.

"Yes, I've heard that the Northern and Eastern grids have failed. We are looking into the matter. We are inquiring. The situation is expected to be restored to normalcy in one hour", Power Minister Sushilkumar Shinde said.
The reasons for the grid failure were not immediately known.
While an almost 15-hour power crisis was seen in the Northern part yesterday, the crisis today reached the Eastern region as well. Delhi government officials said the Northern Grid failed at around 1:30 PM, when the national capital had a demand of around 4,000 MW. Only 38 MW was being supplied at around 1:45 PM.


Latest News from India News Desk