The Union Cabinet has approved the list of pending demands of several states regarding inclusion of several castes and communities on Thursday.
It has included 58 castes and 45 sub-castes of 13 states and three union territories in the OBC list.

Among those which have been included are three castes and three sub-castes of Punjab, with the number being highest in West Bengal – 37 castes and one sub-caste. Three castes and six sub-castes from Delhi have made its way into the OBC list.

Besides, one caste and 18 sub-castes from Chandigarh have been included in the OBC list. Though Garah community of Uttar Pradesh was already in the list, a rectification was made owing to spelling mistake.

Uttarakhand Ranwalta and Jaunpuri communities have also got a place in the OBC list.

Those states which benefitted from the Cabinet’s decision are – Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Goa, Himachal Pradesh, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra, Punjab, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.  

Besides, three Union Territories, which benefited from Centre’s decision are Delhi, Chandigarh and Puducherry. The Cabinet’s decision was based on recommendations of the National Commission for Backward Classes.

Based on the recommendations, 115 changes have been made and in the proposed changes, a number of castes and communities will able to derive benefits of reservation in government jobs and educational institutions.


Latest News from India News Desk