Teams from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, South Korea, Sweden, Brazil and Ukraine will vie for top honours in the top school football tournament, organisers Subroto Mukherjee Sports Education Society said.

The tournament will be held in three age groups - boys under-14, boys under-17 and girls under-17.

The prize money of the boys under-14 category will be Rs 2.5 lakh while those of boys under-17 and girls under-17 will be Rs 3.5 lakh each.

Meanwhile, V N Singh, who died last year after having associated with the organisation of the Subroto Cup for may years, was posthumously given the lifetime achievement award.

Sports commentator Ghaus Mohammad was also given the lifetime achievement award by Air Marshal B B P Sinha, who is also vice-chairman of Subroto Mukherjee Sports Education Society.

Latest News from Sports News Desk