Islamabad: The Pakistan Election Commission has allowed 14 new political parties to contest the next general elections. However, the election commission did not discuss the application filed by former president Pervez Musharraf for registration of his party, the All Pakistan Muslim League (APML), a newspaper reported.

The 14 parties registered on Wednesday are: Pakistan Ittehad Yaqeen Tanzeem Party, Justice and Development Party Pakistan, Young Blood Christian League, Pakistan Muslim League-H (Haqiqi), Pakistan Dharti Maan Party, Awami Justice Party, Pakistan Patriotic Movement, Sindh Taraqi Passand Party, Allah-o-Akbar Tahreek, People's Democratic League, Awami Jamhuri Ittehad Pakistan, Tahreek Bahali-i-Suba Bahawalpur Pakistan, Pakistan Basic Rights Movement and Tahreek-i-Suba Hazara.

According to reports, general elections in Pakistan are scheduled in 2013.