A PCB official said that the series had been finalized after consultations with Cricket Australia who have agreed to play in the UAE.
"We have no option right now but to host our home series at neutral venues and the UAE is the most cost effective for us," the official stated.
No Test team has visited Pakistan since March, 2009 when militants attacked the Sri Lankan team bus in Lahore in which six policemen and a van driver were killed and some of the visiting players wounded.
The official said that apart from Australia the PCB will also be hosting the New Zealand and Zimbabwe teams for a Test and one-day series each in the UAE before the World Cup in 2015.
The series against Australia includes two Tests, three one-day internationals and a T20 match.
Australia will also play a four-day tour match against the Pakistan A side in Sharjah during the series from October 13 onwards.
The series starts with a T20 match in Dubai and will be followed by the ODIs and Test matches. Australia has not played in Pakistan since 1998.
Series itinerary:

Oct 3- T20 international in Dubai
Oct 5- 1st ODI in Abu Dhabi
Oct 8- 2nd ODI in Sharjah
Oct 10- 3rd ODI in Dubai
Oct 20-24-1st Test in Dubai
Oct 28 to Nov 1-2nd Test in Abu Dhabi.


Latest News from Sports News Desk