A seven-member bench headed by Chief Justice Nasir-ul-Mulk will preside over the hearing regarding the premier's disqualification, initiated by advocate Gohar Nawaz Sindhu, Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) leader Chaudhary Shujaat and Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf's (PTI) central committee leader Ishaq Khan Khakwani, media reported.

The petitioners claim that Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif was dishonest on the floor of the house in the past, due to which he ceased to be "Sadiq" and "Ameen" (honest and righteous).

The Supreme Court on Wednesday constituted a seven-judge bench which would resume hearing a set of petitions seeking the disqualification of Prime Minister Sharif for his alleged August 29 mis-statement of facts on the parliament floor.

The larger bench was constituted in line on November 10 with an order of a three-judge bench, headed by Justice Jawwad S. Khawaja in Quetta, which had asked the court office to place the matter before the chief justice who might constitute the larger bench if he deemed appropriate.

Latest News from World News Desk