New Delhi: Parliament on Monday congratulated Indian athletes who won medals in the London Olympics.

Special Coverage: London Olympic 2012

Medal Tally Of London Olympics 2012

"These exceptional accomplishments will inspire upcoming sportspersons across the country," Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar said amid thumping of desks by members.

"These sportspersons have made India proud by increasing the final medal tally to six which is a remarkable achievement," she said.

In Rajya Sabha, Chairman Hamid Ansari said that by their achievements, the sportspersons have made India proud in the comity of nations.

"Their example should inspire young people throughout the length and breadth of the country to emulate and improve upon their achievement," he added.

Sushil Kumar won a silver medal while Yogeshwar Dutt got a bronze in 60 kg freestyle wrestling event, while MC Mary Kom had won a bronze medal for boxing in women's 51kg category.

Vijay Kumar and Gagan Narang won silver and bronze medals in shooting events while Saina Nehwal won a bronze in badminton.


Latest News from Sports News Desk