Jaipur: Taking the complaints of breach of privilege of parliamentarians seriously, Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar has constituted a committee to take action against the guilty officials.

The committee will be empowered to look after the complaints against the officials pertaining to violation of protocol norms, misbehaving with MPs.

The committee will follow the norms of Privilege Committee while looking after the complaints of MPs. After considering the complaints, the committee will forward its recommendations to the Speaker.

The committee will take up the issue of breach of privilege of both houses and their members.

Senior Congress leader Girja Vyas-headed committee comprises JD (U) president Sharad Yadav, senior BJP leaders Yashwant Sinha, Shahnawaz Hussain and Ananth Kumar, DMK’s TR Balu and BSP’s Dara Singh Chauhan.

Talking to reporters, Girija Vyas said, “The committee will fulfill its responsibility.” The Rajasthan government has issued directions to the district collectors, head of the departments and principal secretaries to give due respects to the public representatives added Vyas.


Latest News from India News Desk