Even among those having won some seats, given a large majority being cornered by BJP, the number of seats is not in proportion with their respective vote shares.

As per Election Commission figures, the BJP has come out with flying colours in these elections winning 282 seats on its own, while it got nearly 17.16 crore votes accounting for 31 percent vote share.

The Indian National Congress, which has been left with just 44 seats, has managed to get 10.7 crore votes or about 19.3 percent share.

On the vote share front, the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has interestingly come third with 4.1 percent vote share or 2.3 crore votes but it has got zero seats in its kitty. Its candidates came second on 34 seats.

The Samajwadi Party is also not far behind with 3.4 percent vote share, although Mulayam Singh Yadav-led party could manage to win only five seats.

On the other hand, Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress (TMC) has got 34 seats with about 3.8 percent vote share.

The number of seats won by Jayalalithaa-led AIADMK is even larger at 37, although vote share stands at 3.3 percent. At the same time, the CPI (M) with a similar 3.3 percent vote share has managed to win just nine seats.

The Biju Janta Dal, the fifth largest party in terms of seats after BJP, Congress, AIADMK and TMC, has got 20 seats although it stands much lower on the vote share tally at 14th position with 1.7 percent share.

The DMK has also got 1.7 percent vote share but has no seats to show in its kitty.

The Shiv Sena has got 1.9 percent vote share with 18 seats, while the Aam Aadmi Party has 2 percent votes and four seats. The Nationalist Congress Party has managed six seats with 1.6 percent.
The data shows that a total of 18 parties have managed to win one percent or more vote share in these elections, while those getting less than one percent of total votes include CPI (0.8 percent), Janta Dal Secular (0.7 percent), Shiromani Akali Dal (0.7 percent) and Indian National Lok Dal (0.5 percent).

Others with lesser vote shares include AIUDF, Ram Vilas Paswan-led LJP, DMDK, PMK (0.4 percent), RSP, Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, JVM, MDMK, AIFB, SWP, IUML, BLSP, CPI(ML)(L), Naga Peoples Front, Apna Dal and BMUP.

A vote share comparison with the past Lok Sabha election shows that BJP's vote share has gone up from 18.8 percent in 2009, while that of Congress has fallen sharply from 28.55 percent at that time. The BSP's vote share has also come down from 6.17 percent in 2009.

The BSP was third largest in terms of vote share in 2009 elections also but it had won as many as 21 seats at that time. During 2004 Lok Sabha elections, the BSP got 5.33 percent votes and bagged 19 seats, while the party's tally in 1999 polls stood at 14 seats and 4.16 percent votes.

During 1998 Lok Sabha elections, the BSP won five seats with 4.67 percent vote share.


Latest News from India News Desk