Delivering the interim order after hearing writ petitions filed by MLAs Ajit Kumar, Suresh Chanchal, Raju Singh and Poonam Devi, Justice Rakesh Kumar allowed them to attend the Monsoon Session starting from August 3.
Justice Kumar held that though the MLAs will be able to attend the House, they will not be entitled to salary, allowances and perks. They will also not participate in in-house voting that may come up during the session which will continue till August 7, he said.
The four MLAs had been disqualified by Assembly Speaker Uday Narayan Chaudhary in November last year under the anti-defection law for indulging in anti-party activities. They had then approached the high court for relief.
The MLAs had pleaded before the court that they be provided relief in the light of the recent Supreme Court order, which had provided the right to visit and attend Assembly session to four other JD(U) MLAs -- Gyanendra Singh Gyanu, Niraj Kumar Bablu, Ravindra Rai and Rahul Sharma – who had also been disqualified on similar grounds.
Expressing happiness over the interim relief, Ajit Kumar said he will now attend the Assembly session and continue the fight for change in the state.
On his plans in the light of coming Assembly election in Bihar, Kumar said he will work under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and former Chief Minister Jitan Ram Manjhi to counter the "autocratic regime" of Nitish Kumar.

Latest News from States News Desk