Patna: The Patna high court on Wednesday quashed the election of JD (U) MP Dinesh Chandra Yadav from the Khagaria Lok Sabha constituency.

Justice V N Sinha passed the order on a petition filed by CPI leader Satya Narayan Singh challenging the election of Yadav as a Lok Sabha MP from Khagaria. The Court has also asked the Election Commission to conduct by-poll for Khagaria LS constituency.

The petitioner Satya Narayan Singh had alleged that Returning Officer rejected his nomination papers improperly which resulted into Yadav’s victory in the election.
Satya Narayan Singh approached the Patna High Court in 2009 seeking the quashing of the JD (U) MP's election. Singh alleged that the Returning Officer did not grant him an opportunity to rectify the mistakes.
Meanwhile, the officer said that the nomination was rejected because Singh didn’t furnish all the information before the Election Commission.    

However, Section 33 (a) and 33 (b) of the Representation Act state that there is no compulsion to provide required information to the Election Commission through affidavit.

Singh’s prosecutor Ujjwal Kumar Sinha also alleged that ‘It was a conspiracy to prevent my client from contesting the LS polls.’

However, Yadav's lawyer said they will move to Supreme Court against the High Court’s decision.


Latest News  from Bihar News Desk