The HC has reversed the Speaker’s order saying 10 Schedule had not been applicable in case of these MLAs as JD (U) had no right to issue whip during the RS bypolls.

Bihar Assembly Speaker Uday Narayan Choudhary had on November 1 terminated four former JD(U) MLAs -- Gyanendra Singh Gyanoo (Barh), Neeraj Singh Babloo (Chhatapur), Ravindra Rai (Mahua) and Rahul Sharma (Ghoshi) -- for anti-party activities.

All the four legislators were suspended due to proposing candidature of the independent candidates --
Sabir Ali and Anil Kumar Sharma-- against the ruling party candidates in Rajya Sabha bypolls last year in which JD (U) had won all three seats with support of RJD.

Eighteen JD (U) MLAs including these four had voted against two of three party candidates. The MLAs had contended that crossvoting did nnot amount to violation of provisions of Schedule 10.

Latest News from State News Desk