The term of seven Rajya Sabha members from the state expires on April 2. The elections will be held on February 7.
Pawar is the sitting Lok Sabha member from the Madha constituency in Western Maharashtra. He had recently declared that he was opting out of electoral politics and would be in the Rajya Sabha and devote more time to the party.
NCP has two retiring members YP Trivedi and Janardhan Waghmare. State NCP president Bhaskar Jadhav said Pawar would file his papers on January 24 and the name of the second candidate will be finalised on Tuesday.
Pawar will be in Mumbai tomorrow to finalise the list of party candidates for Lok Sabha polls. The NCP will contest in 22 out of the 48 seats in the state.


Latest News from State News Desk