The committee will hold its first meeting on Friday. "The Coalition partners PDP and BJP on Thursday formed the Coordination Committee to ensure that the agenda for the Alliance is implemented within the defined time-frame and all the policy issues adhered to in letter and spirit," an official statement said here on Thursday.

The 10-member Coordination Committee will be headed by Jammu and Kashmir Deputy Chief Minister Nirmal Kumar Singh.

It will have five members each from both PDP and BJP. Other members of the committee include PDP President Mehbooba Mufti, BJP state chief Jugal Kishore, Muzaffar Hussain Beigh, Tariq Hamid Karra, Thusptan Chhewang and Shamsher Singh (all MPs) and Choudhary Lal Singh, Abdul Rehman Veeri and Naeem Akhter (Ministers in the PDP-BJP coalition government).

"The Coordination Committee will meet at least once a month or on need basis. The Coordination Committee will ensure smooth functioning of the alliance and the PDP-BJP  coalition government, and may suggest from time to time various initiatives to be taken for the overall well being of the people of the State," it said.


Latest News from State News Desk