OIL Chairman and Managing Director S K Srivastava, Engineers India Ltd (EIL) head A K Purwaha as also GAIL Directors Pradhan Singh, P K Jain and Ashutosh Karnatak are among the candidates who have applied for the post.

The government has decided not to give an extension to incumbent A K Balyan. Also in fray are Petronet LNG Ltd Director (Finance) R K Garg and its Director (Technical) Rajender Singh, sources privy to the development informed.

The candidates have been called for an interview before a three-member Search Committee on March 30, they added.

Petronet is majority owned by state-owned oil firms ONGC, GAIL, BPCL and IOC but is registered as a private company and its MD & chief executive officer (CEO) has always been
appointed by a panel of promoter firms.

However, this time around a three-member panel comprising Oil and Natural Gas Corp (ONGC) Chairman and Managing Director Dinesh K Sarraf and two independent directors on Petronet Board - Arun Kumar Misra and Sushil Kumar Gupta has been formed, sources speculated.

Latest News  from Business News Desk