Prakash Javadekar, who held the independent charge of environment, was the lone minister promoted to the cabinet rank while all new inductees took oath as ministers of state.

Today's exercise underlines BJP's attempts at wooing dalits and OBCs, whose votes would be crucial to its fortunes in key states like UP and Gujarat.

All barring Vijay Goel and Faggan Kulaste are new faces while a few have been ministers in BJP-ruled state governments.

Ajay Tamta, Arjun Ram Meghwal, Krishna Raj, Ramdas Athawale, Ramesh C Jigaginagi were among the dalit MPs sworn in as ministers by President Pranab Mukherjee at a ceremony in Rashtrapati Bhawan.

Others who were inducted in the Modi government included Anupriya Patel, S S Ahluwalia, P P Chadudhary, C R Chaudhary, M J Akbar, J Bhabhor, Purshotam Rupala Mansukhbhai Mandaviya, S R Bhamre, Mahendra Nath Padey, A M Dave, Rajen Gohain.

Delhi: #CabinetExpansion : Ramesh Jigajinagi takes oath as Minister in presence of President Pranab Mukherjee

While Patel and Athawale are BJP allies, all others are from BJP. Among the 19 inductees, three MPs each from Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat and Madhya Pradesh took oath while four from
Rajasthan were also sworn in. At least three ministers of state are likely to be dropped.


2 ST leaders:  Jaswant Sinh Bhabhor
5 SC leaders:  Ajay Tamta, Ramdas Athalwale, Arjun Ram Meghwal, Ramesh Jigajinagi, and  Krishna Raj
2 Minority leaders: MJ Akbar and SS Ahluwalia
2 Women leaders: Anupriya Singh Patel and  Krishna Raj

Latest News from India News Desk